Covid-19 information for travelers in Europe
Global Voyager Assistance provides you the guidance with actual information on the resumption of travel destinations in September 2020.


Tourist travel to Cyprus is resumed from June 9 after closing its borders for almost three months. Local authorities have arranged three lists based on countries' epidemiological situation, which detail if passengers from these destinations are allowed to enter and under what conditions. The lists are updated weekly by the Ministry of Health. All passengers regardless of their nationality need to fill out a form called Cyprus Flight Pass within 24 hours before their flight departure.

The tourists from List A called "Low-risk countries" may visit Cyprus without restrictions. These countries include Austria, Canada, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Thailand.

Passengers coming from the countries from List B - "Possibly low risk but greater uncertainty" - need to test negative for the virus not later than 72 hours prior to their arrival. These countries include Andorra, Australia, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Vatican, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, Rwanda, San Marino, Spain, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Uruguay.

At least people from List C countries named "Greater risk" are not permitted to visit Cyprus unless the traveler is Cyprus resident. These countries include Portugal, Sweden, Luxembourg, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro.


Travelers from EU member states as well as Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican have been allowed to visit the country since June 15 without a health certificate or any form of quarantine upon arrival.

But passengers from Spain and the UK are asked to undergo a voluntary quarantine, "in reciprocity" to current regulations in place in both countries, France' Foreign Affairs Ministry has explained. Also France has introduced a “déclaration sur l’honneur” that states those arriving by sea and air need to complete a form saying they have no COVID-19 symptoms and haven't been in contact with any people with confirmed cases.


Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, China, UK, Monaco, Andorra, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Vatican City, Norway and Iceland arrivals are permitted without restrictions. The same applies to all EU arrivals - except for tourists from Malta, Bulgaria and Romania. They need to present a negative COVID-19 test not later than 72 hours prior to their arrival.

Travelers from third countries are allowed only for essential reasons. All visitors from air, land or sea are subject to random tests upon arrival. If they are positive they will be placed in a 14-day quarantine at the expenses of the Greek state.

Entry via land from Albania, North Macedonia and Turkey entry is also permitted only for essential reasons.

Czech Republic

EU countries have been divided into groups dependent on COVID-19 risk. All EU member states except Romania are now in the low-risk green group, meaning travelers are allowed to enter the Czech Republic with no restrictions. They are joined by Andorra, Australia, Iceland, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Federal Republic of Germany, Norway, New Zealand, San Marino, Thailand, Tunisia, Switzerland, Vatican and UK. Romania is currently classified as "red" and tourists need to present a negative coronavirus test upon arrival.

Entry is prohibited to all other third-country nationals through with a long list of exceptions that are listed on the official site of the Czech Ministry of Health.


According to Malta's Tourism Ministry tourism travel in the country is reopened from July 1. On that date borders reopened to travelers from Germany, Austria, Cyprus, Switzerland, the Italian islands of Sicily and Sardinia, Iceland, Slovakia, Norway, Denmark, Hungary, Finland, Ireland, Lithuania, Israel, Latvia, Estonia, Luxembourg, Czech Republic, Italy, France, Poland, Spain, Croatia, and Greece.

But two weeks later on July 15 the restrictions were lifted for people arriving from a large list of EU and non-European countries. Before arrival a traveler must complete a paper copy of a public health form and a passenger locator form and also accept the self-isolation measures.


Nationals of EU countries, Schengen area and passengers on flights from the UK, Brazil, the Community of Portuguese Language Countries, the US, Canada, Venezuela and South Africa are allowed in the country. Border controls are in place. But there is currently no need to quarantine arrivals with the exception of The Azores and Madeira islands. The border with Spain is open.

Read also:

COVID-19. Quarantine loosening and borders opening. Summer update

COVID-19. Quarantine loosening and borders opening. Part II of summer update